India has a long and illustrious history of civil servants, leaders, and governors. The Governor-General of India is a prominent figure in Indian history, representing the country’s highest executive office. In independent India, the first Indian Governor-General was Chakravarthi Rajagopalachari, who served from 1947-1950.

Early Indian Governor-Generals

The office of Governor-General of India has a long history, beginning with the East India Company. The first Governor-General of India was Robert Clive, appointed in 1773. He was followed by Warren Hastings, who served as Governor-General from 1773-1785. In 1833, the office of Governor-General was replaced with the position of Viceroy of India, which was held by Lord William Bentinck from 1833-1835.

First Indian Governor-General of Independent India

Chakravarthi Rajagopalachari was the first Indian Governor-General of independent India. He was appointed in 1947 and served until 1950. Rajagopalachari was a prominent leader in the Indian independence movement, having served as the Chief Minister of the Madras Presidency in 1937 and as the Premier of Madras in 1946. He was a close associate of Mahatma Gandhi, and is remembered for his contributions to the Indian Constitution.

Rajagopalachari was a key figure in India’s transition to independence, and his appointment as the first Indian Governor-General of independent India was a sign of the progress that had been made in the country. He was a respected leader and his legacy continues to be celebrated in India today.